Greetings From A Non-Toxic State

I’m writing from London, England after being in Dublin, Ireland for 3 days. In those 3 days, I have really only posted to Facebook, and basically avoided the news. Donald Trump has not been elected here. His presence is felt here as Theresa May meets with him in The States. What she will say, or even who exactly she is, I don’t know. If there’s bad news I don’t know about it. I can watch news if I want to, and if I don’t want to, I don’t. 

There is no sense of impending doom. Surely doom might come, but I don’t spend my days worried about it. It’ll just happen. For the first few days in Dublin, I would wake up two or three times at night from dreams about the election and its effects on my friends, each shown in framed photographs for some reason. The fact that I dream about conditions in the US shows how much of the current climate leaks into my subconscious. I have never been to a mental space like this. My friend Jane Weidig posted the other day that she was mentally exhausted worrying about it all. Other friends agreed– they were, too.

There are so many double-binds. Watch and know so you can react, vs don’t watch and don’t know so you don’t have to react is among the greatest for me. For people with mental illness, all of them will need more care rather than less, and of course, Trump threatens to cut Obamacare, and Medicare. Do they get treatment or not?

If I have learned one thing from having a clear mind it’s that Sabbath pays off. A Sabbath away from news…a Sabbath with God, renewing. The other thing that happens with a clear mind is empathy. How do countries where this is the norm survive? Have people lived like this in our country? When? Why? Because of whom or what? How did people live under Idi Amin or Augusto Pinochet or any of the other despots out there?

As I write this, I am aware of just how much the world needs the old American ideals of freedom, and justice, and fairness. I’ll continue to rest for now. I hope you can do the same.

Resisting with Peace,

John

One thought on “Greetings From A Non-Toxic State

  1. Happiness is a choice.

    Additionally, read Matthew 6:26-27. Then read it again. Then print it out and stick it on your mirror.

    Additionally, as a professional I’m sure you understand that nobody should EVER let someone else control their own feelings & happiness. Your emotions (and reactions) are strictly your own.

    Always fight for what is right. But… within the above guidelines. And enjoy your sleep.

    -Bob
    p.s. Speaking of sleep… I had this weird dream about an alien invasion. Do you do dream analysis?

Leave a Reply

