Simplifying Things — Why Should I Care About Your Body?

As the shooting/bombing/disruption at a Planned Parenthood Clinic happened today, I once again want to say I don’t get it. I don’t understand the whole thing because … well, I don’t want to. I have bigger fish to fry. I have my own life to live, and only so many days to do it in. No, I’m not dying any more or any quicker than anyone else is. I just don’t like to waste energy because there’s too much to get done in a life. It works for me and I can’t imagine changing it.

So here’s the thing. Provided you’re not hurting anybody, I don’t care what you do with your body. Sexual relations with whoever you want? Not my business. Who you fall in love with? Not my business. Tattoos? Not on my body, thanks. On yours, they’re not my business. Fetus in your body? I didn’t put it there. It’s not my business. Even if I did, and even if I have an opinion about it, in the end, it’s none of my business.

Are you fat? Short? Tall? Thin? Not my business. Black? White? Yellow? Brown? Not my business. Do you have large breasts? Small breasts? No breasts? Used to have breasts? Now have breasts that you weren’t born with? None of my business.

Have genitals that are different than mine? None of my business. Have genitals that are the same as mine? None of my business.

Why am so casual about such things? Because I have a body. I like it well enough. I don’t like it when people tell me how to keep it. I think it’s disrespectful.  I don’t think it’s their business. I suspect you feel the same. In fact, I assume you feel the same. That’s being respectful.

Wouldn’t the world be a whole lot better if we all thought this way?

Peace,

John

 

 

 

One thought on “Simplifying Things — Why Should I Care About Your Body?

  1. Almost wholly agreed! Get all of the tattoos, breast enlargement/reductions, ear surgery, etc., that you want. Execept

    1) It’s the baby’s body, not the mother’s body.
    2) If I helped create it, I (as the father) should have the right to keep it – even if the mother doesn’t want it.

    You want to give someone a choice? Ask the baby. It’s the baby’s body that you’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

